Changeling reviews

Big Magilla
Site Admin

Post by Big Magilla »

Mike Kelly wrote:By the way, was It Happened One Night really that much of a long shot?
That bit seemed like a writer's invention to me. Did people really bet on the Oscars way back then?

With the largest number of nominations of any film that year, I would have thought It Happened One Night would have been the favorite.
Mike Kelly
Temp

Post by Mike Kelly »

I just watched it myself, and also agree with much of what has been said. Eastwood seems to be filming it as a noir/horror film. I thought I was watching Invasion of the Body Snatchers for a while "Uncle Ira isn't Uncle Ira" As an former cop, I just couldn't fathom what was going on, but apparently they kept very close to the case. My namesake did a nice job as Detective Ybarra, and Amy Ryan added much needed energy to the Snake Pit scenes. Unlike some here, I actually got a big kick out of Jason Butler Harner's serial killer. He had a Dennis Hopperish whacked out look about him, and as far as his execution scene, all I can say is I grew up watching Angels with Dirty Faces quite a few times, he sure made me think of Cagney.

I didn't care for the scene when the mother of the escaped boy calls Christine. It seemed intentionally manipulative. I also would have expected that the nephew of the killer would have been re interviewed to ask about that incident. I'm sure he was, but they left it out of the screenplay.

By the way, was It Happened One Night really that much of a long shot?
Mister Tee
Tenured Laureate

Post by Mister Tee »

Weighing in late as usual.